Read Your Birth Year

I know it’s a little crazy to think of books to read for next year, but you know me. I’m a little crazy. I came up with a fun reading challenge! Ready? It’s…

READ YOUR BIRTH YEAR!

Every month of 2017, I’ll be reading a book that was published in my birth year, 1989. I’ve already picked them out. Here’s my schedule:

January: Number the Stars by Lois Lowry July: The Pillars of the Earth by Ken Follett
February: The Joy Luck Club by Amy Tan August: Hyperion by Dan Simmons
March: Mary Queen of Scotland and the Isles by Margaret George September: A History of the World in 10 ½ Chapters by Julian Barnes
April: Geek Love by Katherine Dunn October: The Dark Half by Stephen King
May: A Prayer for Owen Meany by John Irving November: The Mummy by Anne Rice
June: The Remains of the Day by Kazuo Ishiguro December: Midnight by Dean Koontz

I’m hoping this is going to be fun and doable. What I’d LOVE to do is be able to go to the library and get these every month, but with the baby and my work schedule I don’t really know how it’s going to be. But I’m going to try! And that means more reviews!

If you have any suggestions for other books, let me know!

Does anyone else want to do this challenge with me? Let’s link up!

3 thoughts on “Read Your Birth Year

  1. Yvo says:

    That’s such a great idea! I never found many titles for mine (1988), but I should check if I can scrape together enough titles to join as well. There are some interesting titles on your list. 🙂

      • Yvo says:

        Stephen King and Dean Koontz are great writers, although I haven’t actually read these particular books yet. And I read The Pillars Of The Earth a few years back and it was interesting enough, although a bit long.

Leave a comment