How’d You Sleep? 


If you’re anything like me, you value your sleep. I know I do, now more than ever. I’m actually writing this as I’m wide awake with my son (it’s 3AM where I’m at). Did you know that about 68% of Americans struggle with sleep at least once a week? That’s around 164 million people. Glad to know I’m in good company! I bet all of us try to squeeze in sleep where we can, but sometimes it’s hard.

In my college days, I was the nap queen. I would take naps after every class. There were a lot of all-nighters pulled so I could finish assignments. I’m pretty sure that contributed to my sleep being terrible. Before I was pregnant, I had the roughest time falling asleep. There were many nights that I would be awake most, if not all, of the night. It certainly wasn’t for lack of trying; I blame my insomnia genes I inherited from my dad. I’d try to use the time wisely and read as many books as I could, but mostly I would just lay awake, staring at the ceiling. During my pregnancy, I had the best sleep ever. I’m not even kidding. As long as I slept on my right side, I was golden. I think it was my body stockpiling sleep for the future. Enter now: I’m wide awake with my son, who’s snoozing away. When I put him in his crib, he wakes up. I also know that if I try to sleep, I won’t be able to. The joys of motherhood, am I right? I definitely try to sleep when he sleeps. Most weekends, he and I nap together.

Do you know what your body does while you sleep? Depending on how long you sleep, a lot! Leesa, an online mattress store, created this awesome infographic to help explain what goes on while you sleep. I now realize that I usually wake up within the first 10 to 20 minutes, and that makes sense. I also know that my naps with my son have to last at least an hour, otherwise I’m going to feel terrible for the rest of the day.

leesa_sleep_cycle_x2_v03

Throughout the years, I’ve tried a couple different sleep aids. One that I used on and off for awhile was melatonin. It usually works fine…as long as you get at least 8 hours of sleep. If you get less than that, be prepared to feel groggy the next day. Another thing I’ve tried is aromatherapy. I used to spray lavender on my pillows to help me sleep. I’ve been researching essential oils, and I think I want to try them with my son. Best case scenario is that they will work and he will sleep through the night. Worst case scenario is that they don’t work but his room will smell nice. The best thing that’s worked for me was actually getting a new mattress. Now I can lay on my back and sleep without pain! It’s pretty amazing.

Tell me: do you get enough sleep? What are some tips and tricks to help you fall asleep and stay asleep.

 

Leave a Reply

